Love is love, on LGBT issues today

Published February 23, 2014 by violetdragonlady

Samstar Speaks

I recently had a debate with a friend concerning LGBT issues today and wether in the present day we finally have equality.  I submitted that while there has been progress in recent years in recognising LGBT rights there was still a long way to go in order to achieve true equality. My friend on the other hand stated that ‘we’ now have same sex marriage and that sites like Facebook now recognise different types of gender identification, as a consequence we now have equality and the battle to recognise gay rights has been achieved. In addition there was little if anything left to change.  I strongly disagreed with this, while I am extremely pleased with the recent steps forward, I believe it is naïve to believe there is nothing left to change.

In order to illustrate my reasons why, I believe it would be useful to tell you a little…

View original post 773 more words

Leave a Reply

